Sunday Night 90s (3): CAKE – The Distance

Since its Father’s Day, I thought I’d give a shout out in the third installment of Sunday Night 90s to my dad.  Growing up, my dad and I would often make the 30 minute trek from Oklahoma City to Norman for OU basketball games.  One of the few times we made it two games in one week, it seemed CAKE’s “The Distance” was playing every 15 minutes on the radio.  I loved (still do) that song so much, that my dad bought me the edited Walmart version for Christmas.  It was one of the first CDs I ever owned, and as a 10 year old I didn’t really know what was being edited out of “Nugget”.  It didn’t seem to bother me much, because I literally wore the CD out.  Anyways, here is the video for the aforementioned “The Distance”.  Happy Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

